Diary of a Women Travelling Alone

If you are a woman, thinking of taking off and doing some travelling on your own but are afraid of doing so then this article is for you and will help you to realise that dream.

Waiting - Flickr image by - Rellim

I am a 44-year-old, married woman who in recent years has had to travel back and forth between the UK and Italy about 4 times a year.  My husband moved to Italy where he took up a teaching position and writes for a living.  His work keeps him out there but I would have missed my family and friends too much, hence the travelling, plus I get the best of both worlds.

I must admit that at first I was a little nervous about travelling on my own but the excitement overcame my nerves.  Packing used to be a real chore but now when I remember something I want to take, I simply put it in my case in preparation. It makes it so much easier when the time comes to pack for real.

Things to remember to put in your hand luggage:

  • Passport
  • Tickets
  • Purse
  • Book to read
  • Puzzle book to keep you entertained
  • Pen
  • Water
  • Food (Sweets, crisps, sandwiches)
  • Tablets, for every eventuality
  • Wet wipes
  • Spectacles
  • Mobile phone

Luggage - Flickr image by J. Cliss

When dressing on the morning of your travels always remember to wear layers.  If it gets warm you can take a layer off and tie it around your waste.  Although in summer you’ll need less clothing.  Wear a coat with deep pockets, this way you can get more hand luggage on board (especially if you’re travelling with a certain very strict airline, you know who I mean).

Once I’ve gone through passport control, I like to get my shopping out of the way and then find a seat to do some people watching.  It’s amazing some of the sites you see in an airport departure lounge.  Hen weekends and Stag do’s are the funniest.  On my last trip to Italy, whilst waiting for my flight to be called at Bristol Airport, I spotted a huge gang of superheroes.  They were off to Amsterdam for the weekend.

I’ve never felt threatened whilst travelling to Italy. Whether waiting at the bus station in Cardiff at midnight, the bus station in Bristol for the connection to the airport and then at the airport itself, I feel very comfortable all the way.  I even feel safe on the plane.  I used to hate flying and would hold the armrests with a death grip until we were in the air. Now I just carry on reading my book or sleep.  That’s what being a seasoned traveller does for you.

On arrival in Italy it can be a bit daunting but as most officials can speak English to a certain degree at the airport, it’s not that bad.  Buy a train ticket for Perugia, get on the train and then my husband meets me at the local station.  It’s all very easy, now.  First of all I was a little panicked at doing it by myself but over time it does get easier.  For the train ride, I always remember to take a picnic with me, as it can take up to 4 hours.

So if you are thinking of travelling on your own and are quite rightly a little scared, just remember that there will be other women travellers on their own who are a little scared too. People are also easier to talk to when you’re travelling because they want to tell you all about their journey.

Author:- Suzanne Winfield

FURTHER INFO:-

If you wish to find out more about our Travel Content or are interested in having articles written please email:- travellingcontent@gmail.com

3 responses to “Diary of a Women Travelling Alone

  1. This blog is quite women who are thinking of making a trip alone. Last year my mother came to visit me to Mexico. I’m very proud of her, travelling abroad and discovering the world on her own.

  2. I”ve been traveling along, well except for my dog, Maggie, in an RV all across America for six over years now. My best advice to a woman traveler: Don’t sit before you make sure there’s toilet paper.

  3. I agree with you on that one Pat, lol! I always carry tissues in my handbag too.

    Sue

Leave a Reply

